This site is now an archive. For the current version of LCL, please visit learn.media.mit.edu/lcl.

Different online learning environments

James_B

Feel free to join in the conversation, this is continuing the discussion from Introduce Yourself:

@karenbudde,

Well, paint my thoughts a priori and call them a posteriori! You teach Latin using Moodle? How cool is that!

Moodle is one of my favorite environments. As an undergrad, I managed to annoy a couple professors with a tendency I had for a duration where I made Moodle a topic of focus in assignments at every opportunity. Undergrad psych class assignment? No problem! Explore the topic of research psychology for educational technology design so I can plug my favorite OER. Undergrad finance class assignment? No problem! Talk about costs of implementation and maintenance for educational IT so I can go on about my preferred poison of proficiency pursuit.

There are a lot of really cool modules for Moodle out there to help enhance features. I have to say they do a great job with chats and discussion forums. I bet VTVLC gets every drop of best use out of it all.

I keep trying to get over to the Annual Moodle Research Conference but I have a lot going on that time of the year. The first was held in Crete-Greece a couple years ago and looked like it was extremely fun, informative, and all-around productive. I've lost track since but I imagine they still host it in Greece.

You may see more and more of the effects of those conferences as time goes by, especially with a large cooperative that seems to stay updated as VTVLC. The Moodle Research Conferences have always placed a high focus on posters and presentations addressing accessibility and interoperability. Things may only get easier and better with Moodle, especially when working alongside other technologies.