This site is now an archive. For the current version of LCL, please visit learn.media.mit.edu/lcl.

Looking for participants in study on game design - scratch

sandra_poczobut

Hi Everyone,

A dear friend of mine is a PHD Candiate at the University of Toronto and is doing this study for her thesis. The participants have to be local or in the Toronto area. If you are interested or may know of anyone in the area that is interested please feel free to forward the following the information below to them.

Cheers,
Sandra Poczobut

PROJECT DETAILS AND DESCRIPTION

I am a University of Toronto graduate researcher who is seeking adult study participants living in Toronto, ON - game designers, artists, or creative individuals to participate in a game design workshop (a Game Jam). I am seeking individuals who identify with a disability, a chronic illness, emotional trauma, or any other health-related issue (ex: addiction, PTSD, mental illness, eating disorders, Autism/Asperger's, ADHD, etc.) who are interested in making a personal game about their experiences.

“How does it hurt?” Authoring the autopathography in DIY digital games is a social justice research project that examines the creative design processes of designers authoring the autopathographic digital game. In the context of literary writing, Couser (1997) defines the autopathography as an “autobiographical narrative of illness and disability” (p. 5).

My study aims to give voice to neurodiverse and ability diverse communities through feminist and social justice minded research – involving participants in game creation through a facilitated and fully accessible game design workshop (a Game Jam) to be held at University of Toronto, as well as subsequent individual, in-person interviews.

This study delves into the creative game design processes and experiences of game designers or artists who author the autopathographic game during the Game Jam, as well as more in-depth interviews after the Game Jam.