This site is now an archive. For the current version of LCL, please visit learn.media.mit.edu/lcl.

Scratch and Foreign languages

geraldiux64

Scratch is a good proogramme in order to teach FL

maperez324

We are very excited to translate Scratch to an indigenous language: nahuatl. We have a girl form Puebla who speak, write and read nahuatl and she was working with me in the UNAM developing reasoning skills with Scratch. Then We want to translate the Scratch instructions and modules to nahuatl, then the peoples talking this widely spread indigenous language in Mexico yet could use Scratch to develop reasoning skills like the other kids and adolescents in Mexico. Be multicultural demand to organize learning environments mediated with technology to be respectful with their "mother language".

geraldiux64

That sounds pretty interesting and with nahuatl perfectly done.It could also be useful with other indigenous laguages from the mexican republic.By the way I studied at the UNAM-FES-ACATLAN.
Scratch will be useful for students who are learning a foreign language like french,german,japanese or english in Mexico.also for students that come to Mexico and learn spanish.

maperez324

Hi. I was in my Spring break vacations, sorry for delay in answer your comment. Thanks.

We are trying to give access to Scratch for people who is unattended in technology use.

Best,

maperez324

Well. We are here. We are a group of Tech in education in the Education School of Mexico UNAM. We have a new project to translate Scratch commands to nahuatl language. Nahuatl is one of the most important indigenous languages in Mexico. There are millions of people who talk this language, but youngsters are leaving behind their culture because cultural changes. We want to help indigenous population to discover that their mother tongue is useful to learn and think. One of our students is an indigenous nahuatl and she is learning didactic of languages to coordinate the translation efforts.